Blogging Awards; a bit bonkers? Discuss.

I have been nominated for The Liebster Award by Donna L Sadd and  The Versatile Blogger award by Rosie Scribblah. However, I note that Rosie has nominated me not only for my versatility but because I am “a bit bonkers.” Hmmmm. Fair comment. But it got me thinking are Blogging Awards a bit bonkers anyway?

I’m a relative newbie to blogging, but as I began viewing other blogs I noticed awards pinned to side bars. Wow, I thought, what a great honour. Then I saw in the comments list bloggers eagerly informing the recipient of their award nomination. Ah ha, I thought, awards for bloggers, by bloggers. How lovely. However, I also noted comments like “Thank you, but I don’t accept awards” or notices in effect saying “Push off and take your award nomination with you”. So is accepting an award a crass thing to do I wondered. Do only desperate, needy bloggers accept, copy and paste an award image to their blog? Well, if you scroll down to the foot of this blog you’ll see The Sunshine Award proudly displayed. Yes, proudly. That’s because I was nominated by Winloseordraw and A Number of Things, two bloggers I highly regard. And Rosie says she chose her 15 nominees out of 90 blogs. Now that’s humbling. And it’s precisely that warm fuzzy feeling that keeps me blogging.

However, as I found when I took the Sunshine Award, there is a bit of work involved, and perhaps that is why people decline.  Maybe the “pass it on” part reminds people of poisoned chain-letters; “if you don’t pass this on you will DIE” kind of thing. And there are rules, and not everyone wants to be pressurised into following rules. So I was delighted to discover Alex Autin, a recent nominee of the Versatile Blogger Award, who very wittily adapted the rules.

Here are the standard ones:

  • Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
  • Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy
  • Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
  • Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.
  • Finally, tell the person who nominated you 15 things about yourself

As Alex points out promoting and supporting fellow bloggers is a great thing but 15 is a big number. And readers may die of boredom as you rattle off 15 self-promotional facts.  So she reduced it to three. Three facts, three blogs and an entertaining post to boot.

So, here is my creative and bit bonkers award acceptance….

Thank you Donna for the Liebster Award and all your support and kind comments. Donna is the creator of Lucci the No Smoochie Poochie. You can find out all about Donna and Lucci here. She also enjoyed the dubious pleasure of being “elfed”.

Thank you Rosie for the Versatile Blogger award.  I am a huge fan of Rosie’s and love her blog. I’ve dubbed her sketching style as “The Martini Style” because she can sketch anytime, anyplace, anywhere. And the end results are brilliant.

Instead of 15 dullard facts I will reveal my fantasy to you all……..

I want to spend the rest of my days Horseboating. Basically, this is living on a canal barge pulled by a huge, feather footed horse. The Horseboating Society will explain all.

My horse would look like this and I would name him Horrix

Photo courtesy of Rick, Southern rep of The Horseboating Society

The narrowboat would look like this.

Photo courtesy of rugbyboats.co.uk

With herbs and flowers

And I would dress like this

Polly Swallow, my horseboating fashion icon

I would turn the boat into a floating art gallery and sell my drawings of elves or exchange them for hay and carrots for Horrix the Horse.

The Liebster Award is about spreading love and stuff to blogs. We’re not into rules remember but if you want them heres how Donna described them. My nominations for this Award goes to This is Lemonade. A blog started at the beginning of 2012 full of beautiful things, recipies, and charm.

My nomination for the Versatile Blogger Award goes to Vieveandlynsker. They are sisters who  draw, paint, knit and have a liking for elves. Wait a minute…their blog is only one month old. Why, I’ll nominate them for the Liebster too.

So Blogging Awards; a little time-consuming once accepted, but there’s nothing to stop you from doing it your own way. And you are championing and generally “bigging up” your fellow blogger.  Which, let’s face it, is what blogging is all about.

Hey, a Ziggy Shortcrust post with no drawings or elves. How bonkers is that?!

12 thoughts on “Blogging Awards; a bit bonkers? Discuss.

  1. Lovely post Ziggy but alas I am one of the blogging award killjoys.. ( you may have noticed the no awards please photo on my blogs) I think they are too much like chain letters and put too much pressure on people to name other blogs they like.. I like dozens. How would I choose??? Who would I leave out ?? !! I am just happy that people stop by my blog and comment…reward enough I say.

  2. Heh, I declined the blogging awards until I was bored one day and then I did a mass post with just that 😀 In general though, I agree with you though… they are somewhat silly. i tell all the people I include in my ‘chain letter of doom’ that they are absolutely free to not pass it on ^^ I do love your blog though and find it quite sunshine-y ^^

  3. I am definitely happy to be nominated Ziggy – it’s made my day, such a fun surprise, I’m so chuffed! Thank you! It’s meaningful because it’s from my first friend on the blogosphere (I think that’s what people call it?) Does that mean I can pin the cute image to my blog? Might cheer things up a bit 😛 I’m so new to this whole thing, I think seasoned bloggers will just poo-poo my excitement…but then I didn’t see the mention until I re-read your blog because..
    My initial excitement was over the narrowboat. What a great link – I can’t decide whether I’m going for an imaginary modern trad or cruiser…I’ve always been charmed by them when I’m walking by the canals. They always seem to be inhabited by such friendly, creative people…some people who own tugs (now I know all the names of them) have the most exquisite gardens. Makes me so envious!
    I now believe firmly that we are imaginary twins separated at our imaginary birth – except you have a real camper van..how confusing. I’d most definitely recognise you as we glide past each other in our narrowboats on a river somewhere, dressed in all your finery..I’d be in jeans maybe lol. Have you ever stayed in one? I’ve been dreaming about a holiday in one for years now!

    • I spent a week on a narrowboat and it was fabulous. I definitely enjoy small space living. I totally forgot to pop over and tell you I’d nominated you. I shall do that formally 😉

  4. Blogging awards were helpful to me when I first started blogging…they helped spread the word about my blog and gain an audience. Now it seems more chain-letter-ish to me. I always appreciate the awards and thank the person who gave them to me, but I don’t do posts about them anymore.

Leave a Reply

