29 Faces in May; How to Draw an Elf “Ziggy Style”

Believe it or not this is my One Hundredth Post, so I thought it should be a little bit special. And what better way to celebrate than with a “How To…”. And if that wasn’t enough there is also a “Give Away”, but you have to persevere to the end of the post to find out exactly what I’m giving away.

So to draw an elf “Ziggy Style” you first require, a sketch book, fine liner pens, and some elf artifacts.

 

 

The artefacts, in this case a pair of elf shoes, wood turned acorn and heart stone, aid elfassurance.

Now to the drawing….

 

Choose your fine liner then draw the outline of the face. No sketching, dive straight in. Don’t worry, those special artefacts will guide your elf sense.

 

Sometimes I don’t listen to my elf sense and make a mistake. The jaw line on the left was too wide so I re-drew it.

 

Of course, it wasn’t a mistake. My elf sense told me I had to draw a collar.

 

Now add the ears, nose and mouth. Remember an elf rarely smiles, and I have never seen one laugh. It’s not that they don’t have a sense of humour but consider it bad manners to reveal their teeth in public.

 

Eyes next. Listen to your elf sense. Are they sloping eyes or horizontal? Don’t forget to mark out the eyebrows.

 

Now it is time for the accessories and clothing. At this point it my be a good idea to handle your artefacts to aid elfassurance. Are they wearing a hat? Any jewellery? Are their ears pierced?

 

If your elf sense is telling you the creature has hair, put it in now.

 

Now you can start shading. Lots and lots of dots. You can probably zone out at this point.

 

Keep going, keep going. Ok, now you can pause for some real tea served up in a cup fashioned out of dragon scales.

 

Eyes hot and sore? Fingers cramped? Then it’s probably time to stop….

 

Ta da! You have completed your elf. And as it happens it is also todays 29 Faces in May.

So, to celebrate my ONE HUNDREDTH POST I promised a give away. And it is the above elf. Would you like to own an original Ziggy elf? Then leave a comment and a link back to your blog on this post telling me why you would like to adopt this elf.  The most original answer wins.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “29 Faces in May; How to Draw an Elf “Ziggy Style”

  1. . . . I would like to adopt an elf because I have special cupcakes and with harpsichord entrancements we shall plot the finest, most delicate, minuet dances mmmmmmmmmm . . .

    RR

  2. Hell yes I want an Elf.. i have a Gnome in my garden, but he’s made of plaster, or some other toxic crap that’s leaching into the ground. But a drawing by you seems to be environmentally friendly. Not to mention just good art.
    thanks for sharing the Elf process.
    Hansi

  3. I would like to have an elf. Not for myself but for the lonely troll that lives under the bridge down the street from me. The troll use to love having elves over for dinner. He told me to let you know he has lots of honey. The troll said elves are notorious late for supper. He used the word “tarty.” I assume he meant tardy. He does not say his “Ds” that well. When I told him I will do my best to get him an elf he seam very excited. He immediately began to rub his belly and let out a joyful hum.

  4. Thanks for this tutorial – as you can see I used it for one of my 29 faces – with limited success – most likely due to the lack of elf artefacts around here 🙂

  5. Foresooth fair lady of the Elves.. would you foresake your loyal and trusty follower by giving the treasured Lady Elf to another.. Alas and Alack if you do I may have to hang myself from the Weeping Willow tree that graces my garden and which has a hollow beneath it that lies ready for just such a Lady Elf to inhabit…

    http://helensphotomania.wordpress.com/

  6. I love to see the way that different artists work, fascinating. I would like this elf because he looks well hard and he might be able to instil some discipline into me wayward kitteh, Sparta. Some Elfin Safety maybe?

  7. Hi Ziggy, I like how you’ve got the sketches progressing in this post – and your very delicate line. Kay

Leave a Reply

