Wait Just a Minute Mr Postman

Back in January I decided to revive the lost art of the hand written letter by writing a letter a day. I invited you to join in my challenge by emailing me your postal addresses so I could send out letters. But not just the written word; each one would contain an original Ziggy Elf. The promise of “a letter a day” has proved a little hard to keep up with but nonetheless over 70 letter elves have been dispatched right around the world, with many more ready to take flight.

However, even more wonderful, many of you have sent letters back to me. Beautiful, handwritten, illustrated letters often with decorated envelopes too.

Thank you so very, very much to everyone who has taken the time to reply. They are fabulously creative, fun and inventive. You are all so talented.

Many of the letters I have sent can be seen here. And if you want to join in with my challenge and receive your very own letter elf all the details are here.

13 thoughts on “Wait Just a Minute Mr Postman

  1. She is fast asleep right now, but I will show Miss Emma this post in the morning. She will be most impressed to see her Elf drawing on display! 🙂
    Over 70 Letters! Wow. I wondered what number you were up to.
    Well done Ziggy, you are a Joy Bringer!

  2. I’m guessing the snail mail is REALLY slow from a certain Caribbean island from which I sent you a postcard! Loved the pile you’ve gotten already though!

  3. Wow what a treasure trove! I’ve recently gone through a shoebox of snailmail in an attempt to “downsize”. It’s so much more difficult to get rid of things written in people’s handwriting rather than emails which I have no trouble deleting. I mean simple things as a Christmas card that says little else than “happy Christmas” in it! If that were in an email, it’d have been long gone!

    These vibrant cards and letters, and the ones you’ve sent, would make a fabulous gallery exhibition! Such is the lost art of letter writing – thanks for reviving it! 🙂

  4. I’m sorry I haven’t. I went and got nice paper and nice envelopes and they remain on my bedside table. Every night I look at them and tell myself that tomorrow I will write and then tomorrow comes with whole lot of different challenges. I haven’t forgotten, though

Leave a Reply

