Ziggy and the King of the Rook Elves

Mischa SkinnyDog and I went for our usual walk; through the houses, onto the moor and up into the woods. As we made our way between the trees such a racket began above our heads.

“Look,” said Mischa “crows.”

“Ah my skinny friend” said I “if you see a rook on its own it’s a crow. If you see a lot of crows, then they are rooks.”

Mischa was contemplating this when the rooks swooped down and took hold of us. There were dozens of them grasping at us with their sharp talons and beaks. They lifted us from the ground and took us high above the tree tops until we came to an old oak whose trunk had a gaping hole. From our vantage point it appeared like a wooden chimney. Down flew the rooks taking us with them into the depths of the tree.

Like Alice tumbling down the rabbit hole we fell further and further and deeper and deeper under the ground. All at once the rooks loosened their grip and we were dropped unceremoniously on to leaf littered earth. Considering how far we had fallen it was surprisingly light and I could see that Mischa and I were in a vast cavern tangled with tree roots suspended from its roof. The rooks circled around us cawing loudly but as the settled amongst the roots they took on their true guise; Rook Elves. These are particularly clever, yet mischievous creatures who excel in thievery.Each one had about their shoulders a cloak of glistening jet black feathers but only one wore a crown made from a rook. He leapt down from the roof top roots and stood before me and spoke.

“Now I’m the King of the Rook Elves, a Pixie VIP. I’ve reached the top and had to stop and that’s what’s bothering me. I want to draw like Ziggy Shortcrust and doodle round the town. Give me the dibs on your inky nibs, I’m tired of elfing around.”

“Goodness me!” I said, “I’d be happy to help in fact it would be an honour but I’m afraid I don’t have my pens with me.”

“Now don’t try and kid me Shortcrust,” he said, “Clue me what to do. Give me the gen on your fine liner pen so I can be like you.”

Then all the elves gathered around Mischa and I and started chanting, “Oh oobee doo, we want to be like you, we want to draw like you, sketch like you too. You’ll see it’s true, Elves like us can learn to be doodlers too.”

I could see these creatures weren’t going to take no for an answer but I had no pens. What could I do? Then it struck me….quills. We could make pens from feathers. So I set Mischa to work nibbling away on the rook feathers until we had enough for everyone. I can’t tell you what we did for ink, but it was a scary process getting it. Silver birch bark served as paper and off we went. I conducted my very first Elf Doodling class. We were only there for a couple of hours but on our release it turned out we had been gone two whole months. You may remember from my last visit to the OtherWorld that the elves sent out a Ziggy Changeling in my stead. It would appear this happened again as nobody missed me at all. But she appears to have an aversion to blogging so that’s why I haven’t posted anything for a while.

Fact or fiction?

You decide.

 

King of the Rook Elves drawn with a quill.

King of the Rook Elves drawn with a quill.

37 thoughts on “Ziggy and the King of the Rook Elves

  1. YOU’RE BACK! i missed you.

    and i rather wish i could have gone along on this adventure…both to learn to sketch like you and to meet the rook king. because he seems very much like my kind of elf. perhaps i shall meet him too some day.

  2. Sounds like a great adventure, but I’m glad the King of the Rook Elves set you free! I will keep an eye out for him here in Dorset, although I’m pretty sure he’s already visited our house and stolen/hidden lots of pens – he seems especially fond of the ones next to the phone…

  3. I just looked at your lovely envelope the other day and wondered where you’ve been. Now I know. Next time, perhaps a messenger crow can be sent to let us all know that you are safe and sound!
    P.S. I thought a group of crows was called a murder???

  4. Ohhhh… how I missed this post I’m not sure… something elfish afoot I suspect. I never knew that Rook Elves spoke in rhyme, but that would explain why two hours turned into two months. But you were so entranced by those long-winded ways of getting anything drawn that I suspect it was more a case of you not missing us, rather than us not missing you! 😦
    Well, at least you’re back. I’d like to hear Mischa’s side of the story though. She’s one talented skinny dog, crafting quills with her teeth. Most dogs I’ve seen chew anything, turn something perfectly fine, into something unrecognisable and good for nothing but dog-chew-material!
    Glad you’re back in one piece at least 😉

Leave a Reply

